top of page

Single But Still Attached?

What is love? Love is giving someone the power to break your vulnerable heart, but totally trusting them not to. For me personally, that's my viewpoint on the ineffable feeling. But the truth and reality is, we all have our own respective notions on love. No observation is neither right or wrong. That being said, why does love seem to be so complicated? Why do so many women say that a good man is hard to find?

Why are very few women unified with their King? Well after much prayer and careful consideration, the revelation was given to me in 1st Samuel 16:1-2.

1. And the Lord said unto Samuel, How long wilt thou mourn for Saul, seeing I have rejected him from reigning over Israel? Fill thine horn with oil, and go, I will send thee to Jesse the Bethlemite; for I have provided me a king among his sons. 2. And Samuel said, How can I go? If Saul hear it, he will kill me.....


Saul fell out of favor with God as he proved himself irresponsible of being the King of Israel. Subsequently, God ordered Samuel to go to Bethlehem, because he had someone else (David) he desired for him to anoint as the next King of Israel. But ironically, Samuel did not immediately follow instructions. Instead, he responded to God with a question saying 'How can I go, if Saul hears of this he will kill me...'Interestingly, Samuel was very afraid of Saul even though he was comfortable with working for Saul, as he served as his armor bearer. He was not too fond of detaching himself from Saul but instead chose to reason with God out of fear. Essentially, Samuel was attached to Saul physically through comfort and emotionally through fear.


Likewise, I find Samuel's dilemma to be the reality of many women today. They classify themselves as single, and perhaps that may be consistent from the position of not being involved in committed relationship with someone; they aren't omitting other possibilities. In fact, an indefinite number of unmarried females are frequently buzzing their dating circles. But meanwhile, as they are developing companions and corresponding with men of romantic interest, these bachelorettes are physically and/or emotionally attached to another man from their past. A multitude of them maintain an exclusive sexual relationship with their child's father. Many others retain feelings towards their previous lover and are emotionally susceptible to them. I trademark these women as Single But Still Attached.


Like flowers in the wind, I used to sway my body to the sounds and rhythm of what I presumed my favorite hip hop songs. But in actuality, I discovered my genuine interest was with the hook instead of the lyrics. I was oblivious to the context and meaning of the musical composition, but yet I would utter the hook with such assurance. That being said ladies, as you confidently utter your stereotyped expression 'A GOOD MAN IS HARD TO FIND', my counsel for you is to take an introspective observation. Conceivably, your own behaviors may be relevant to the cliché as you detect your wrongdoings. But until you have done so, I can't help but to invite your reply to my inquiry-----How can you ask a man to dance to your music, when you don't even understand the words to your song?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Instagram Black Round
bottom of page