top of page

IS A GOOD MAN REALLY HARD TO FIND?

TEASER & EXCERPT

Spoken Hot Fridays was an event hosted by RedCat, an upscale bar in midtown Nashville, where artist expressed themselves through rhythmic grace. Candles were lit and the lights severely lacked in sharpness while the band softly carried tunes of jazz in the immediate background of the poets. Sitting unethically close on the loveseat while nursing their individual long islands existed an intimate connection between Keys and Hayley. As their ears found pleasure, the mood was heavily influenced by the thought provoking words of the poems.

Speaking into the microphone, the M.C. said….

“Ok everyone! Give it up once again for Victor Kidd!”

The crowd greatly applauded

“Alright. Now. Coming to the stage next. This young lady is no stranger to us at RedCat. She is truly, truly gifted in her literary works. Not taking my word for it, according to amazon.com, she has reportedly sold over 11,000 copies of her latest book titled Amongst All. So without further due, welcome to the stage, Trinity Gentry! Who goes by the name RAIN!

Clapping their hands, the audience extended hospitality.

Adjusting the microphone stand, she lowered it to a comfortable height.

“This is one of my newer poems. It is called An Angel Dwells Amongst These Walls.

It was a very pleasant atmosphere, as Hayley and Keys paid close attention to the words of RAIN. She was very intense, exploiting verses of high quality, diverting the audience’s imaginative minds into an exotic state.

It wasn’t long before that short fascinating poem was brought to an end.

Everyone applauded her poetry.

“Ok yall. This next poem I am gonna recite is called To Dine Amongst These Ripe Fruits.

There was a brief moment of silence as she sighed laboriously before reciting her next poem.

Unhurriedly, Keys embarked Hayley with his own personal act of affection as his soft feverish lips intruded hers.

Instantly, her pussy was curiously disturbed.

Several long minutes elapsed before Rain concluded her decorative style of poetry. Highly intrigued by her emotional sincerity and profound insight, the applausive crowd acknowledged her previous efforts as she vacated away from the stage.

“Alright! Once again, give it up for Rain!” The M.C. uttered

Instinctively, the crowd extended their praises.

“Ok, Rain has copies of her book with her as well if yall want any. She has a table set up in the back by the hallway leading to the bathrooms. So yall make sure yall support her and purchase a copy of her poetry book ok!....Now what we gon do right now yall, is take a fifteen minute break. So don’t yall go too far! In the meantime, just mingle around, order drinks, go to the bathroom, or do whatever yall feel the need to do. Make yourselves comfortable. Ok! So we will be right back with some more great poets for yall!”

As the M.C. exited the stage, rays of light emitted through the building.

The band began to stir up the mood as the affluent privately socialized.

Staring into each other’s eyes adoringly…..

“Did I tell you how seducive you look this evening?” Keys whispered softly into her ear.

Hayley sexily-slowly rolled her neck his direction, looking at him with her demanding eyes.

“No. You didn’t tell me sweetie but you surely did show me how you felt”

“Did I?” Keys replied casually calm, in an unconcerned tone

“How did I do that?” he asked off handedly, staring into her carnal eyes.

Hayley’s eyes were pleading sensual messages to Keys, messages interpreting I really wanna give you some tonight.

Affectionately tapping him on his left thigh…“You know exactly what you did boy, don’t be tryna play dumb” a delighted Hayley responded.

“Anyway honey, I need to go to the restroom real quick” she stated as she excused herself from the loveseat.

Only moments after Hayley left, a certain individual across the room dwelled their eyes on a mightily handsome Keys. Wearing his dark blue skinny jeans, Keys was sporting a fresh fade, with his face completely shaved down to a smooth texture. The partially opened brown Armani blazer he wore complemented the light blue collar shirt underneath almost to perfection.

Discerning a hard stare, Keys sat on the loveseat in full mellow facing straight ahead. What seemed to be an endless amount of seconds, he eventually creased his pupils at the corners to only notice that he was still being heavily gazed, as he was their utmost attraction.

Out of excessive eagerness, Keys bravely looked in the direction of the conspicuous person, receiving a romantic invitation through the wink of an eye.

He slightly chuckled in amusement, revealing a slight grin as he shyly turned away.

“What you smiling about?” Hayley asked as she abruptly reappeared back into his presence.

“Aw, nothing baby. Just thinking about how admirable you are to me.”

Hayley sat down next him, warmly close.

“Now be honest ok. I have a question for you.” she proposed.

“For sure. I keep it one hundred.”

“When we first met at the hotel in at Atlanta, did you hit on me because you thought I was attractive?”

“Umm. Yea”

“So basically, I was just a number that night...that’s what you are saying. Because I know you didn’t think I was the only pretty girl in there”

“Yea you somewhat right” Keys agreed

“Somewhat. Whatever Keys. I know dango well you didn’t think I was the only fine girl in there!” Hayley said in harmless ourtage.

In a defensive tone-“Naw you wasn’t! I am not gonna sit up here and tell you that, cuz you wasn’t the only fine girl in there….However, I do think that your beauty was distinct.”

“Ok. Well now that you said that, why did you approach me? And what is it that you admire about me?”

“Hayley, don’t get me wrong. Yes you are beautiful. That’s obvious. But as I’ve told you before, I have dealt with many many many many many fine women. However, for most of them, I was honestly only kicking it with them because of their looks. Now, I will admit. Some of them I did kinda like their personality’s or whatever. But for the majority of them, I didn’t. Now what I admire about you baby is that……

“Excuse me” said the waitress, briefly suspending their conversation.

“Sorry to interrupt but a person that wanted to remain confidential ordered another Long Island for you as a treat.” she said as she placed the drink on the table in front of them.

Instinctively, an ill-mannered Hayley assumed a disoriented expression.

“Uh un! Oh no miss, but that’s just disrespectful. Send this back please. I don’t want this” said Hayley.

“Actually ma’am, I am sorry. But it’s not for you…they said it’s for him”

Bewildered, Hayley glanced at Keys as his face was delightfully filled with wonder.

“Ohhh! Well thank you!” An astonished Keys replied.

With a puzzled face, “You not going to send it back!” Hayley asked perturbingly.

“Naw baby. That’s rude” he answered, lacking emotion.

Instantly, Hayley’s mood swing drastically lapsed as she surveyed him with her evil eyes.

“Hayley. Why are you looking at me like that?” he asked dispassionately, after consuming a few sips of the long island.

“You know why!” she flagrantly exploited, hammering her fist on the table, extremely agitated by his indecent behavior.

“Matter of fact. I am ready to go.”

Only after a fraction of a second---“Now!” Hayley roughly uttered as her beautiful face was contorted by fury.

Partially embarrassed, Keys slowly propped up out of the loveseat.

“Gimme a second. I need to go to the bathroom real quick”

Impulsively, she burst a growling sigh of frustration.

“Just give me the damn keys and I will wait in the car” her bitter voice stated.

Keys handed her the car keys and proceeded to the bathroom.

“I hope I didn’t stir up too much friction between the both of you did I?” he stated with his sexy baritone voice.

As Keys was drying his hands with the brown paper towel-----“Uhhh. Well I wouldn’t necessarily direct it towards you…but….I guess that is what you get when you deal with women….but with that said, I truly appreciate your act of kindness though”

Gradually drawing near him--“My absolute pleasure sir. That’s just one simple way of me expressing myself…There are plenty of other avenues I can go about it as well” he said candidly, looking very deeply into his receptive eyes.

Suddenly, a long awkward quietness aroused a mutual understanding between the brethren as they were temporarily unable to speak.

“I’m Tyler” he said breaking the delayed silence.

“Nathaniel. But I prefer for you to call me Keys.”

“Well….certainly, your preference is not a problem.” He responded while digging into his pocket.

A straightforward Tyler handed Keys his contact card.

“Gimme a call sometime so we can talk about it” he said conspiringly as he gently patted Keys on the back and exited the bathroom.

Physiologically collapsing, Keys stood motionless for several proceeding moments as he was greatly thrown off by his unconventional approach.

After regaining his senses, he placed the card in his wallet and left out of the men’s room.

“Actually Rain, sign my girlfriends name for me please” Keys stated

“What’s her name?”

“Her name is Hayley.”

“Spell it for me sweetie”

“H-A-Y-L-E-Y”

Upon writing a brief informal comment along with a personalized signature, she gave the book to Keys.

“Thanks for your support” Rain said.

“Your very much welcome”

Before leaving RedCat, Keys decided to purchase a copy of Rain’s book Amongst All for Hayley. He hoped that to a certain extent, his benevolence would somehow suppress her surging emotions during their commute home.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Round
  • Twitter Black Round
  • Instagram Black Round
bottom of page